Monday, March 02, 2009  
EXPOZINE Awards Gala Tuesday, March 3

:: Posted by max @ 3/02/2009 05:08:00 PM

The Expozine Alternative Press Awards Gala
*free admission*

Come and celebrate the best of the nearly 300 small presses that took part in last fall's Expozine small press, comic and zine fair! Six prizes will be awarded, recognizing the best book, comic and zine sold at Expozine.

Each exhibitor was asked to submit one publication, and the winners were chosen by an esteemed panel of judges out of the hundreds of publications submitted at Expozine 2008. The gala is a rare chance for you to meet and mingle with the most talented up-and-comers of the local publishing scene, as well as purchase copies of the 36 short-listed titles.

Admission is free, beer and liquor specials will be in effect, and your MC, Ed Fuller, will regale the crowd!

Les nomines:

Nomines francophones fanzines :

Trio a emporter, par Kathey Tibo
Gargouillis indigeste #003, www.gargouillis.com
Ffsshmrwlbaouarf par Simon Bosse/ Mille Putois, www.myspace.com/milleputois
Ectropion, collectif de cremation litteraire, www.myspace.com/zineectropion
Fanzine sans titre, Genevieve Dumas
Toxico (Fanzine # 3), par Delf Berg, delfberg.blogspot.com

Nomines francophones BD :

Hasemeister : C'etait 2007, Frederic Mahieu, www.hasemeister.com
La terreur noir pâle, C. Reney
Fatima, A. Desmarteaux, Egotrip Productions, www.arthuro.ca
Une aventure de M. Pixel, etienne Beck, L'Employe du Moi, www.employe-du-moi.org
Chimeris 1: Sirus, Adeline Lamarre, Vaar editeur, www.vaar.ca
Humoro Sapiens, Yayo, Les 400 Coups, www.editions400coups.ca

Nomines francophones livres :

Stephane Ranger, Plusieurs excuses, Ta mere, tamere.org
Isabelle Ayotte, Les solitudes de la premiere saison, www.isabelleayotte.blogspot.com
Karmen Mantha, Tout est interrelie, editions du Pigeon, www.editionsdupigeon.com
Mario Rendace, 28 petites fables typographiques, editions du Colporteur
Marie-Andree Gilbert, Le velo couleur peau, editions Les Raboussiers, lesraboussiers.blogspot.com
Maxime DeBleu, Une autre seconde, editions Ü, www.utrema.ca

The nominees :

English Zine:

Four Minutes To Midnight no. 10, www.lokidesign.net/2356
Nailbiter: An Anxiety Zine, www.steemilie.free23.net
Soulgazers II, Camilla Wynne, Michelle Sterling, Simon Reader, Jeff Miller, Spencer Krug, Anna Leventhal
Lickety Split no. 7, www.licketysplitzine.com
Mostly True vol.19 issue 7, Bill Daniel, Microcosm Publishing, www.billdaniel.net, www.microcosmpublishing.com
Place Magazine, Winter 08 issue, www.placemag.org

English Book:

Words the Dog Knows, J.R. Carpenter, Conundrum Press, www.conundrumpress.com
The Debaucher, Jason Camlot, Insomniac Press www.insomniacpress.com
The Sunlight Chronicles, Chris Dyer, Divine Life LLC, www.sunlight-chronicles.com
Fear Of Fighting, Stacey May Fowles & Marlena Zuber, Invisible Publishing, www.invisiblepublishing.com
Blert, Jordan Scott, Coach House Books, www.chbooks.com
Jack, Mike Spry, Snare Books, snarebooks.wordpress.com

English Comic:

Mourning a lover, Sofeel, myspace.com/sofeel
Welcome to the Dollhouse by Ken Dahl, Microcosm Publishing, www.microcosmpublishing.com
BFF by Nate Beaty, Microcosm Publishing, natebeaty.com, www.microcosmpublishing.com
Hypocrite, Dakota McFadzean, dakota.mcfadzean.googlepages.com
Finding Joy, Luke Ramsey, Anteism Publishing, islandsfold.com
Kieffer #2, Jason Kieffer, jasonkieffer.com

Le Chic Gala des Prix Expozine de l'edition alternative
*c'est gratuit!*

Dans ses sept annees d'existence, Expozine, la foire annuelle des fanzines, bandes dessinees et petits editeurs de Montreal, est devenu le plus grand rassemblement de publications alternative au pays. L'edition 2008 d'Expozine a battue les records, avec pres de 300 exposants presents et environs 15 000 visiteurs.

Le comite organisateur a demande a chacun des exposants de soumettre leur meilleure creation. Six juges distingues ont procede au choix de six finalistes par categorie, les gagnants seront annonces au gala anime par le maître de ceremonie Ed Fuller.

De plus, DES COPIES DES 36 PUBLICATIONS NOMINeES SERONT DISPONIBLES POUR ACHAT AU GALA (yay!) -- une rare occasion de se procurer des exemplaires de ces publications souvent obscures, inusitees et la plupart du temps produites a tirages tres limites!

Tuesday, March 3, 7:00pm
4873. St-Laurent
Montreal, QC
facebookpage

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,

   
         - Stumble It!  - Leave a comment!| 0comments  -  - we honor OpenID - 

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Hi, welcome to the blog! If you want to let us know about an event or share PR, write us at Sequential@Spiltink.Org.

For discussion of posts, corrections or relevant links to the story feel free to fire away and post here! We love hearing from you guys. cheers! :)

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home







Archive by Region
Alberta - British Columbia - Calgary - Gatineau - Halifax - Moncton - Montreal - New Brunswick - Newfoundland - Nova Scotia - Ontario - PEI - Quebec - Saskatchewan - Saskatoon - Toronto - Vancouver - Victoria - Winnipeg -

Archive by Month
August 2002 - September 2002 - October 2002 - November 2002 - December 2002 - January 2003 - February 2003 - March 2003 - April 2003 - May 2003 - June 2003 - July 2003 - August 2003 - September 2003 - October 2003 - November 2003 - December 2003 - January 2004 - February 2004 - March 2004 - April 2004 - May 2004 - June 2004 - July 2004 - August 2004 - September 2004 - October 2004 - November 2004 - December 2004 - January 2005 - February 2005 - March 2005 - April 2005 - May 2005 - June 2005 - July 2005 - August 2005 - September 2005 - October 2005 - November 2005 - December 2005 - January 2006 - February 2006 - March 2006 - April 2006 - May 2006 - June 2006 - July 2006 - August 2006 - September 2006 - October 2006 - November 2006 - December 2006 - January 2007 - February 2007 - March 2007 - April 2007 - May 2007 - June 2007 - July 2007 - August 2007 - September 2007 - October 2007 - November 2007 - December 2007 - January 2008 - February 2008 - March 2008 - April 2008 - May 2008 - June 2008 - July 2008 - August 2008 - September 2008 - October 2008 - November 2008 - December 2008 - January 2009 - February 2009 - March 2009 - April 2009 - May 2009 - June 2009 - July 2009 - August 2009 - September 2009 - October 2009 - November 2009 - December 2009 - January 2010 - February 2010 - March 2010 -